One Week In, No Despair In Sight

25 Mar

HURRAY for making it through my first week of student teaching!  It goes without saying that I’m exhausted, and I don’t even want to tell you how much coffee I’ve had this week, but despite that I’m pretty sure that I couldn’t have asked for a better first week back with my first graders.  I’ve already taken over our Morning Meetings and our read-alouds, and so far all of my lessons have been amazing.  The kids seem to be adjusting well to me giving the directions, although I have had to talk with one or two students about how I’m a teacher too and my directions are not optional.  Still, all that’s to be expected; it is an adjustment period for us all.

This upcoming week is spring break for the kids, and I’ve got a kitchen table stacked with curriculum, picture books and various binders.  Yes, it’s a ton of work, but it doesn’t even feel like work.  Instead it feels like a job, a fun job, and that’s priceless.

One Response to “One Week In, No Despair In Sight”

  1. Ali March 26, 2011 at 6:32 am #

    Yay! I’m so glad that everything is going well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

