Writing – A Disclaimer

18 Jun

Writing, like most forms of art, is personal. When I write, I am sharing my thoughts, my ideas, my emotions and, sometimes, my experiences. I think it’s only natural, then, as a reader, to try to find bits of the author in between the lines of prose. It’s easy to feel as though we know who an author is on a personal level just from reading his or her writing. The big mistake readers sometimes make is to confuse Personal with Truth.

In Stephen King’s novels and stories, the wives he imagined up have been cheated on, psychologically tortured, and killed. Does that mean that Uncle Stevie’s wife of 40 years should be worried? I doubt it. Not everything that authors write is a message from our subconscious. The vast majority of the time, it is simply ideas brought to life with the magic of words and infused with vignettes, snapshots, of reality.

So this is my disclaimer. When reading this blog, when reading anything poetical or prose-y that came from my head and my fingertips, please don’t read too much into it. My writing is personal, and there are parts of me in every single letter, comma and quotation mark. But that does not mean it’s Truth.

2 Responses to “Writing – A Disclaimer”

  1. Fiction & Foibles June 18, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    Well said. In fact, I’m pretty sure this is one reason many authors are driven to write under pseudonyms. Anonymity can be a powerful mechanism for promoting uninhibited creativity.

    I often have that nagging voice in the back of my mind that someone will misconstrue my words when writing. When in actuality I’m just putting on another person’s hat, intending to get into the head of someone completely different from myself, to try and craft compelling and diverse story.

    Then, even with pseudonyms and disclaimers, we can’t really prevent how another person will perceive us can we? Se la vi.

    • Andrea June 19, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

      Thank you so much for your comment! I’ve thought about writing under a pseudonym before, but to be completely honest, I think I’m too vain for that. I want to get credit for my work. I guess I’ll just have to keep giving these types of disclaimers. And, you’re absolutely right. Disclaimer or no, the writing will always be up for interpretation. I’m absolutely positive that bits and pieces of Truth will find their way into my writing, but I’ll leave it up to the readers to decide what’s what. *grin*

Leave a Reply

