Scent of an Old Flame

22 Jun

A stranger wearing your cologne walked by me on the street yesterday. The smell hit me like a wall and embraced me like a hug. It’s amazing how one whiff of a scent carried in the faint and passing breeze can conjure up so many memories. It was only a split-second but my mind instantly filled with vivid sparks of a flame that died long ago. A futon we abandoned in favor of the floor, our song, circus peanuts and a fuzzy lavender sweater. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to smell that cologne without thinking of those things. Without thinking of you. In those moments, enveloped in your smell, I smile, and hope you’re happy.  

6 Responses to “Scent of an Old Flame”

  1. Bridget June 22, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Lovely and sweet.

    • Andrea June 28, 2011 at 8:59 am #

      Thank you so much!

  2. Ali June 22, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    Beautiful writing. Absolutely stunning. Something everyone can relate to. Brava.

    • Andrea June 28, 2011 at 9:00 am #

      Oh stop it, you’re making me blush. *grin*

  3. patrice June 24, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    this makes me smile. so universal.

    • Andrea June 28, 2011 at 9:02 am #

      Thank you Patrice!

Leave a Reply

