I Remember: An Anniversary Post

9 Jul

I remember the day I fell for you in calc. class. You came in late, fresh from a strength training competition. You were tall, muscular, sweaty and gorgeous. It was that day that Mr. B crumpled up your test and threw it at you, a sure sign that you did well. I learned three things that day: you were fit, you were smart, and I had a crush to beat all crushes.

I remember the day you first asked me out. You came into my work, I flirted shamelessly (thank God I had given up being a blonde by then), and your exact words were “Why don’t you give me your number and we can hang out sometime?” I obsessed for an entire week about what the actual definition of “hang out” was. It wasn’t until the end of our date (during which you ran a stop sign and I got myself stuck in my seat belt) when you kissed me that I knew it was an actual date.

I remember the day that we first exchanged those three magical words. I wrote them on your cheek with my finger, not even sure if you noticed and you turned, looked at me and said, “I love you too, baby.” I was giddy for weeks, and I bought coffee and bagels for my friends the next morning to spread the joy. They say thanks, for that.

I remember the day you proposed, at the same zoo and conservatory where we had our first date. Surrounded by hundreds of flowers and nothing but beauty, we began to plan our own beautiful life together.

And then, I remember the day we became husband and wife. Six years ago today, we stood on the hottest day of the year in a church without air conditioning and exchanged our wedding vows. I remember the way you looked at me, sweat dripping down your face. You whispered, “You’re beautiful,” and my dad whispered “No backs.” If the heat didn’t kill me, I thought the happiness might.

Of course, there are many other days and nights that I remember, too. Our prom. The first night we…you know. Our first night in our new house. The day you took me to the Magic Kingdom and pretended you liked the Peter Pan ride because it was my birthday and not complaining was your gift to me. The day I told you I was pregnant and we laughed and cried together in the bathroom. The day our beautiful son was born and our lives again changed forever.

We’ve been through hurricanes together, literally. Ok maybe just one hurricane, but still. I know that no matter what life brings us we’ll get through it and we’ll come out on the other side better and stronger, because we did it together. I love you more than words can say, and I can’t wait to spend the rest of forever with you.

Happy anniversary!

9 Responses to “I Remember: An Anniversary Post”

  1. Dawn July 9, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    Andrea,

    I am weeping as I read your beautiful tribute to “Hot Dan” and your marriage. You are a lovely woman, and Dan is a truly lucky man. Congratulations on your anniversary, and all of my love,

    Auntie Dawn

    • Andrea July 18, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

      Thank you so much! And for the record, I totally still call him “Hot Dan.” *grin*

  2. Bridget July 10, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Beautiful. Happy anniversary!

  3. Ali July 11, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    This is beautiful. It makes me happy to see you two so happy. It is sweet to see two people so in sync, even after all this time. Also, you make a beautiful couple — that is one hell of a picture.

    *raises mug* Here’s to many more happy memories and days for you both!

    • Andrea July 18, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

      *raises mug bag* Cheers, dear! And yes, that is one of my favorite pictures. In the actual hard copy, you can see the seat on Dan’s neck. Awesome. 🙂

  4. patrice July 11, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Just perfect. Congratulations! So happy for you, and Dan, (and who can forget Jack?), and the the beautiful family you have become.

    • Andrea July 18, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

      Thank you so much Patrice! We had a great anniversary.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On Anniversaries, Idina Menzel, and Savoring the Moment « prettyandink - July 9, 2012

    […] more gag-worthy sentimental mush, see last year’s anniversary post here. Share this:EmailPrintFacebookTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

Leave a comment