Coming Full Circle

26 Aug

Apparently, all I need to do is whine about something on my blog, and then that something will come true. That’s right, folks, you are now reading the words of an employed teacher! In a crazy turn of events, I was offered not only one teaching position, but two, on Wednesday. While both positions were absolutely fantastic opportunities, the position I decided to accept was that of a half-time sixth grade creative writing teacher.

To be completely honest, I feel like the position was made for me. Here I am, complaining away about how I don’t have time to work on my novel (which, incidentally, is a young adult novel), and now I’m presented with an opportunity to write with adolescents on a daily basis. With this position, not only will I be able to help my students become better writers, but should the opportunity present itself, I can get feedback from my students on my own writing. I can’t imagine a better motivation than witnessing the ideas and talent of my target audience. I could not be more excited.

On a semi-related note, I’m trying to remember the name of a website the professor used when I took a Fiction Writing course at the University. It was a fantastic website that had a ton of really creative writing prompts. I think it may have started with an S? Or maybe a P? Does that ring a bell for anybody?

And now, to test my theory that my blog has magical powers, I would like to take this time to complain very desperately about how I have yet to win the lottery. Perhaps tomorrow, I will. *grin*

Leave a Reply

