Overwhelmed Is an Understatement

31 Aug

To say that I feel overwhelmed when it comes to my new teaching position would be the understatement of the century. There is just so much to do and so very, very little time to do it in.

I think the thing that’s most frustrating is the lack of direction I’ve been given in terms of simple things like where I can get a set of textbooks, how to get access to my email, and where on bloody earth the staff bathrooms are. I’m a planner, so things like pouring over curriculum and brainstorming a year’s worth of lesson plans are things I can wrap my mind around. How to attend an entire week’s worth of workshops and mandatory training when I’m only technically supposed to be working half-time is another thing.

But, I survived open house tonight, despite only receiving my class lists 5 minutes before my students started pouring through the door. It’s in true dismay that I’m now realizing I never got someone to take my picture. Me, handling my first open house at my first teaching position. I guess I’ll just have to freeze that mental image as one to remember forever.

In the meantime, I need to figure out how my class of 34 creative writing students is going to fit into a classroom with only 29 chairs.

2 Responses to “Overwhelmed Is an Understatement”

  1. Ali September 1, 2011 at 6:31 am #

    Oh, sweetie. You are going to get the hang of this, despite the myriad difficulties being thrown your way. Because you are awesome, smart, talented, and very capable.

    Throw up if you have to, but don’t forget to dance after. 😉 Hugs!

  2. lisa karn September 1, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    Well, seems just as it should be for a new job especially ,in a brand new career for you; it is totally expected that you would wig out a bit. Take a few Breaths and smile and think of the wonderful things your kids are going to remember about you when the year is over and then laugh a bit more for maybe everything else. Now make sure you pack your camera on the first day of school. Make taking a picture of everybody a part of all of your day to get to know each other ” smile for the camera”. Just thought of something else too. Tell the kids to make a funny face put their names under it and hang it, that way the kids can look at the faces of each other and laugh when stressed or just use it to get names of people they want to address Love You Mrs. Nelson!!! MOM

Leave a Reply

