A Day of Firsts

7 Sep

Yesterday was truly a momentous day of firsts for me and my family.

For me, yesterday was my first day teaching at my very first teaching position. It’s so bizarre to think that at this time last year I was meekly sitting in the back of the room watching in awe as my cooperating teacher walked a class of first graders how to proceed through a lunch line. Throughout my entire program, there was always someone observing or popping in to check on me. And now, here I am, flying solo. All afternoon yesterday I kept waiting for someone to come in and confirm that I was doing alright, but I guess those days are (for the most part) behind me. It’s scary, but exhilarating, and there’s no place I’d rather be than where I am right now. I could’t ask for a better school, a better staff to work with, and a better position than the one I’m in.

After yesterday, it’s clear that I still have a lot to learn and adapt to in terms of teaching middle schoolers. It’s a completely different world than that of elementary school (especially first grade). I have a couple of spitfire students that are going to keep me on my toes, and my English class in particular does not seem like a group of kids that will be easy to please. But, now at least I know what I’m dealing with and I will definitely be putting in the extra effort to keep all of my students engaged. It’s going to be an amazing year.

Yesterday was also a huge day for my family, seeing as how it was Child’s first day in daycare. To be totally honest, the transition appears to have been harder on me than on Child. He was crying when I dropped him off yesterday, which broke my heart and almost made me want to quit my job. So, it was with an anxious heart that I raced out of school at the end of the day and hurried to pick him up, convinced that he would shed tears of joy and run straight into my open arms when he saw me. Instead, he barely looked up from playing with the toys. It turns out that my boy had a fine afternoon and even slept soundly on his cot during nap time. Who’d have thunk it?

Day one of the school year = done. No matter what happens the rest of the school year, I’m completely proud of that simple accomplishment.

3 Responses to “A Day of Firsts”

  1. Jessica September 7, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    Good for you! Before you know it, you’ll be a pro at teaching! And the Child will also adapt…and probably love…the new routine.

  2. Dan September 7, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    I’m proud of you. I love you

  3. Ali September 8, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    So proud of you. Those kids are lucky to have you as their teacher, in their corner. And your son? Also lucky. Because you are a wonderful mother. (He has nap time? I think I’m jealous… Where’s my juice box?!? hehe)

Leave a Reply

