Wanted: Middle School Book Club Suggestions

11 Oct

Tomorrow is the first meeting of the book club I’m facilitating with my middle schoolers, and I have to admit that I’m pretty nervous about it. My big fear is that I’ll get there and only two students will be there to participate. Or worse – none will show up and I’ll be sitting there in a room by myself with a giant box of Capri Sun pouches and some fruit snacks.

BUT, in the spirit of positive thinking, I’ve decided that I’d like the participants who show up (they will show up, they will, they will!) to choose what book we read first. I don’t think it would work well to just have them suggest their own choice because the odds of any of them picking the same book are relatively slim. So, I’m going to provide them with a list of anywhere from 5 – 10 book choices and they’re going to vote on which one they’d like to read first. Which leads me to my big question. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what some good books to propose might be? I’m pretty familiar with the popular science fiction and fantasy options (The Hunger Games, etc.), but I’d like to offer a variety of genres for them to choose from. Any ideas y’all have would be MUCH appreciated. Please remember – this club is for 6th, 7th and 8th graders, so nothing too explicit.

Thanks much (in advance) for your amazing advice!

One Response to “Wanted: Middle School Book Club Suggestions”

  1. Ali Trotta October 11, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    Lowry, L. The Giver.
    Spinelli, J. Maniac Magee
    Bloor, E. Tangerine.
    Hesse, Karen. Out of the Dust.
    Ryan, Pam. Esperanza Rising.
    Paterson, Katherine. Bridge to Terabithia.
    Baum, L. Frank. The Wizard of Oz.
    Black, Holly. Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale

Leave a Reply

