Calling All eReader owners!

19 Oct

While it might not even be November yet, there are two aisles of Christmas decorations at Target, which means that I feel completely justified in thinking about what I want for Christmas this year.

The big thing on my list is an eBook reader. I used to be a sworn enemy of the eReader. To me, there’s nothing quite like the smell of a book and the turning of pages. But then, I borrowed my friend’s Kindle and I have to admit: I liked it. So I’ve decided to compromise with myself. I’ll use my eReader (assuming I get one) to rent and read books I haven’t read before. Then, if I decide I want to own it, I’ll purchase it in book form and add it to my ever-growing collection.

Which brings me to my current struggle: Which eReader should I ask for? My friend Bridget informed me that the Nook has a feature where you can scroll through the pages as though it were a book, which very much appeals to me. But, now I see the Kindle is coming out with a touch version as well. I’m also attracted to the idea of owning a color eReader, but I can’t help but wonder if the color screens are harder to read. They look a lot like computer screens instead of the eye-friendly screens of the black and white Kindle and Nook.

So, if you own an eReader, can you please give me some advice? Do you prefer the Nook or the Kindle? Are the colored screens more difficult for read for longer periods?

5 Responses to “Calling All eReader owners!”

  1. Caroline October 19, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    I only have experience with the Kindle that I own. Color wasn’t a big deal for me. The new touch Kindles look nice because there’s no keyboard. I like how I can now ‘check out’ books from the library onto my Kindle. Good luck with your decision!

    • Andrea October 22, 2011 at 11:44 am #

      Thank you for commenting! I checked with my library and they said you can check out books to any eReader. That’s awesome!

  2. Bridget October 20, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    If you’re going to be using it as just an eReader and not a tablet, get the eInk screen instead of the color screen. Using a color one is like staring at a computer screen the entire time you read. I’m under the impression that there are more sources for .epubs (what the Nook uses) than the Kindle files. I also like that I can go into a B&N if I’m having Nook issues and either get it exchanged or have them talk me through something. It’s great having so many portable books.

    • Andrea October 22, 2011 at 11:46 am #

      Thank you SO MUCH Bridget for helping me make up my mind. I’ve decided on the Nook instead of a Kindle, but I’ve been going back and forth about the color or not color thing for awhile now and you’re absolutely right. I want an eReader, not a tablet, so it makes much more sense to get the eInk screen. I think that’s the one I’ve really wanted all along, I was just drawn to the glitz of the colored one. But, totally not necessary for my needs. Thanks again!

      • Bridget October 26, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

        Absolutely, dear. 🙂

Leave a Reply

