Change Is Hard, And Why Coffee Heals All

17 Dec

As I sit here staring at my blog I’m torn about what to write. I find it appalling that I haven’t blogged since Thanksgiving, especially considering that I have about three or four entries that I wrote in my head that just never quite made it to paper (er…screen?). That seems to be my biggest problem in writing, always. I know what I want to write and I have the story. I have the words. I just don’t have the time or the conviction or the courage or the chutzpah to actually get it done.

But regardless, here is a list (in no particular order) of the blogs I wanted to (and still might) write.

1. The beauty of winter and why I still believe in Santa

2. How NaNoWriMo was an epic fail

3. Things I learned my first trimester as a sixth grade teacher

4. Why Santa Claus (and all other costumed beings) are scary as hell

5. My first Middle School book club book finished – a success story

For now I think I’ll just share an update about my life that has dramatically changed my daily existence: I was hired on in another .5 position at my school, making me now a full-time teacher. No more lazy mornings with my son, no more spending the morning writing my lesson plans, no more avoiding those 7:15 a.m. staff meetings. Suffice it to say that this has been a huge adjustment for me, and my family. I love it; I’m ridiculously happy in my new role. But, I am now left with the task of figuring out how to plan, write lessons, grade papers and stay awake for three separate subject areas each day.

Thankfully, the answer lies in the healing powers of coffee. It’s amazing how the sound of the pot brewing all by itself thanks to the “delay brew” function makes that 5:45 wake-up time so much easier. It’s also amazing how clutching that warm travel mug makes my freezing car (and the pitch-black mornings) a more inviting place. Similarly, clutching that warm travel mug makes my freezing car a more inviting place in the pitch-black afternoons as well. How I ever survived without it remains a mystery to me.

I’d like to conclude this post with a random trivia fact from my place of employment. Each morning before the last bell rings, students are given a two-minute warning to prompt them into their classrooms. What is this warning, you might ask. A standard school bell? Oh no, for those two minutes my school plays Katy Perry’s “Firework” through the sound system. That’s reason #54748627648 why my school is awesome.

6 Responses to “Change Is Hard, And Why Coffee Heals All”

  1. Angles of Secrets December 17, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    Love that your school plays Katy Perry as an alert before the bell rings!

    • Andrea December 29, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

      Right?! It’s pretty sweet. 🙂

  2. 1 Story A Week December 17, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    Where is this school and can I go back in time to attend it? Ha ha. That is awesome!

    It is always a pleasure to read from people who have a deep understanding of the power of coffee. Well done.

    • Andrea December 29, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

      It’s true. A mutual understanding of the importance of coffee automatically makes me respect someone’s writing a tad bit more. *grin*

  3. Ali Trotta December 18, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    That is the best warning bell ever. Mine used to play Rawhide, and if I EVER hear that song again, it will be too soon.

    Also, agreed — all costume beings are horrifying. CLOWNS especially.

    • Andrea December 29, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

      Rawhide is an awful song to use as your warning bell! It reminds me of my high school gym class that played “Stairway to Heaven” when they made us do laps up and down the gym stairs. Ugh!

Leave a Reply

