Beemer: A Tribute to a Beloved Family Pet

24 Feb

Beemer was an old dog back when Husband and I first started dating nearly ten years ago, and she was unique in every way. She was my brother-in-law’s dog from the beginning, protective, as many shelter dogs often are, but she grew to tolerate me and eventually treated me like one of her own. She would greet me when I’d come to the house with her stub-tail wagging as rapidly as a stub-tail can possibly wag, and while she never was much of a “kisser” she would shove her wet nose at me as if to say, “Hey, I’m glad you’re here.”

She was the only dog I’ve ever met who knew right from left, and the way she’d fling herself off the end of the dock into the chilly lake to catch a ball demanded admiration. She was old, but she had spirit. The only creature I’ve ever known to get more excited at the word “fishing” than Beemer was her owner himself. If there was ever a dog who had gumption or chutzpah, it was Beemer.

It may sound corny or exaggerated, but I know my brother-in-law would not be who he is today were it not for his dog. She was with him through happy times, and even more importantly, through those that were dark. When he moved out-of-state, she was his constant. His reminder of home, and his friend. She was there for him at a time when the rest of us couldn’t be, with a cold nose and a wag of her stubby tail.

Toward her later years she lost most of her speed and her agility. Her tolerance waned and she entered what I fondly would call her “crotchety old woman” stage. She didn’t like to be bothered, and most of the time she wouldn’t hear you or see you if you tried. Despite this, two things never changed: her love of fishing, and her love of my brother-in-law.

Today, at the age of nearly 18, my brother-in-law and his wife made the incredibly painful decision to end the suffering old-age can bring and put her down. There are some out there who say that there’s no place for animals in heaven. I disagree. I know that Beemer has entered a place where she is once again young and spunky, with an endless supply of docks, lakes and fishing boats. The next time I see her, I know she’ll be eager to greet me, with a wet nose and a wag of her stubby tail.

R.I.P. Beemer. We’ll miss you.

 

 

One Response to “Beemer: A Tribute to a Beloved Family Pet”

  1. Ali Trotta February 24, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    Of course, I am a total mess after reading this! This is a very touching tribute to an amazing dog. Beemer definitely had a personality, and it sounds like she was a very special pet. I’m sorry for the loss. I know that is never an easy decision to make, but I think your brother-in-law and his wife made the right choice for their beloved pet.

    Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

