The Fickle Love of a Middle School Girl

1 Mar

Today was a monumental day for the majority of my female students today: Justin Bieber‘s birthday. Apparently, as so many of them were eager to tell me, he turned 18 years old today.

Of all my students, there is one girl in particular that I would call a “super fan” of Justin Bieber’s. I have a soft spot in my heart for this student, because I was a hard-core Backstreet Boys groupie in my middle school years (hell, I still am), so I can relate to the borderline obsessive love that this girl has him. As such, I expected her to tell me she was baking him a cake tonight (something I did many times for Nick Carter) and suggest we sing “Happy Birthday” in class today as tribute.

Suffice it to say that I was surprised when she didn’t even mention him. When I asked her if she was excited about his birthday, she merely shrugged and said, “No. I don’t like him anymore.”

Shocked, I asked her, “Since when?”

“Since yesterday,” she said.

“Why?” I asked.

Her response was priceless. “Because, Selena Gomez has changed him. I do not like who he’s become. I mean, he dyed his hair black for her.”

With that she shrugged and walked away, leaving me to die laughing.

Leave a Reply

