Moments to Remember

13 Jun

Today I am going to do something I don’t do all that often: take my mother-in-law’s advice (no offense, if you’re reading this, I’m just stubborn). She keeps telling me to write the things my son is doing and saying down because I’m going to want to remember. I know that this is true and I always mean to write things down, but so often it gets pushed back and put off. Not today. This is my first summer vacation as a working teacher and I am determined to savor and remember this precious time with my son. So with that in mind, here are two completely random stories of cuteness.

Monday was a gorgeous, albeit windy, day outside. On a walk around the neighborhood, Child told me that he wanted go to play on the swing set he saw in someone’s backyard. I explained to him that going into people’s backyards without their permission was called trespassing. He pointed at the swing set and said, “I want to trespass over there, Mommy!” Genius.

Child appears to have contracted another cold, so he was up a time or two last night. One of the times when Husband and I went in to check on him, he appeared to be wide awake and was talking up a storm. He told us, in detail, about the dream he had involving a snowplow cleaning up the street. Then he stopped himself mid-sentence and got a very confused look on his face. He looked at us with bewilderment and said, “Oh! What’s going on here?!” Apparently he hadn’t been quite awake when he started describing his dream. Husband and I spent some time afterward laughing about that one.

I’m going to try to get better at making note of these moments (like right now, as he runs at me saying, “It’s another booger, Mommy!”). It’s hard for me accept the fact that he’s already the brilliant two-and-a-half-year-old I see before me. I may not be able to fight off time, but I can do my best to capture it.

 

3 Responses to “Moments to Remember”

  1. Laura Iverson June 13, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    Fun stories and the last line, well said! Keep it up Andrea!

  2. marymenkedick June 13, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    I have to side with your mother-in-law, and commend you on listening to her advice (it’s hard for me at times, too!). I love the trespass comment – how do our kids get so daggone smart so quickly?! Your post helped reaffirm for me the necessity in soaking up those little moments in life because they are what makes it all worthwhile. Thanks!

  3. lisa June 14, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    absolutely, I used to write in some of the things you guys would say in your baby books. This will be very fun to remember. You should right down how he told me he was a one man show, that just had be on the ground laughing

Leave a Reply

