My Summer Bucket List

26 Jun

Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a list maker. I have been since…ever. I’m not sure if it’s because it’s the one way I can remember things, the one way I can stay semi-organized, or just because I like the sense of accomplishment that comes with crossing something off. Really, I think it comes down to accountability. I feel like if I write it down and it’s there in words and not just in my head, it means I’ll do it.

Summer has always been a flighty time for me. It always starts with a feeling of endless possibilities but gets piddled away faster than imaginable. What always starts as a seemingly harmless America’s Next Top Model marathon somehow always winds up a wasted summer. Fun and relaxing, perhaps, but not a productive use of my time. So, with that and my love of lists in mind, here is my summer bucket list.

  • Finish my master’s degree
  • Read the books on my Summer reading list
  • Finish the first draft of my novel
  • Brush up on my French
  • Clear out the stack of magazines accumulating in my bedroom
  • Get caught up on my T.V. so I’m ready to go when the new seasons start

This list might seem like nothing huge or monumental, but these kinds of things are always easier said than done. I’m already halfway into my third week of summer vacation, and these things are moving along at a slow but steady pace. But, progress is progress and I’m happy to have the summer off to even attempt these things. Wish me luck!

5 Responses to “My Summer Bucket List”

  1. Zen June 26, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    Good luck! I hope you can achieve every one of these goals. =D

  2. lisa June 27, 2012 at 8:20 am #

    Oh and spend at least one to two days a week with your mama!!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Writer’s Frustrations « prettyandink - July 19, 2012

    […] my novel was something that was on my summer bucket list (an update on that list will happen on a later date). Suffice it to say that, like always, my novel […]

  2. My Summer Bucket List – Revisited « prettyandink - September 4, 2012

    […] If there’s anything that my graduate program at the University has taught me, it’s how to be reflective. As teachers-in-training, we reflected on everything. While it may have seemed like tedious overkill at the time, I do think it’s ultimately helped me become a better teacher, and better in life at general. If you can’t look back on things you’ve done with an open mind and constructively criticize your work, then how can you possibly grow and do better? It’s with this thinking that I’d like to reflect now, my students’ first day of school, on my summer bucket list. […]

  3. Summer Bucket List – 2013 | prettyandink - June 12, 2013

    […] at the end of it sobbing, “But I didn’t get anything done!” So, in the spirit of keeping with tradition (and because my love of lists has not faded), I’ve decided to jot down my 2013 Summer Bucket […]

Leave a Reply

