Over-Underrated 2012 – Part Six

6 Jan

I’m back again with another solo installment (who does Brook think she is?) for you folks at home. Here’s just a little morsel to send you into the work week.

Overrated

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

Usually always when it comes to film adaptations of written works, I prefer the book better than the movie. Somehow, movies always seem to leave out key parts, or make something magical and beautiful into something downright cheesy. Then, there are some things that just don’t translate well to screen, such as telepathic wolves. The Lord of the Rings trilogy is my one exception to this rule. Throughout my life, I’ve tried several times to drag myself through J.R.R. Tolkien’s “classic” novels, but I’m still not able to do it. There seems to be far too many superfluous descriptions of scenery, food and bloodlines of hobbits (among other things), which is why these books are a masterpiece on the big screen. Peter Jackson’s movies took out what was unnecessary, and what was left was a work of art. Because I have such high regard for the LoTR films (and because I think Martin Freeman was born to play Bilbo Baggins), I was beyond excited when I heard Peter Jackson was at the helm again for The Hobbit. I even paid nearly $20 for a ticket to see the HFR 3D movie in a VIP theatre setting. Boy, was it not worth it. For one thing, Jackson’s attempt to match James Cameron’s advances in film technology was a massive flop; the higher frame rate made the movie look less real, which is certainly not what he intended. It also proved to be distracting to me as a viewer. But, even if I had seen the movie in normal 2D without the distraction of the unnecessary 3D experience, The Hobbit still would have paled in comparison to LoTR. There’s far too much joking, far too much singing, and far too much of everything that’s kept me from reading Tolkien’s books. Now, I did have a friend tell me that I’m looking at this all wrong; LoTR was written for adults while The Hobbit was intended as a children’s book, so it makes sense that the film would be more hokie as well. Be that as it may, The Hobbit is still be touting as Jackson’s prequel to his LoTR films, so viewers have the right to expect the same caliber of film work to be taking place. Unfortunately, those expectations are not being met. The only redeeming quality of The Hobbit is the return of Andy Serkis as Gollum. He’s only in the 166 minute film (and that’s just part one of three?!) for about 15 minutes, and in my opinion that was the only 15 minutes worth seeing.
— Andrea

The Hobbit

Underrated

Bunheads

Let me preface this review by saying it is my goal in life to become a Gilmore Girl. While I know that Lorelai and Rory Gilmore are fictional characters and that I am not (I’m not that crazy), their intelligence, rapid-fire wit, and ability to eat junk food without gaining weight is something that I aspire to. I never watched Gilmore Girls when it was originally on air for reasons that are still inexplicable to me, but I fell in love the instant the first episode played in my DVD player, and my sorrow at the series’ being over is still something I think I should probably discuss with a therapist. It’s that serious. Imagine my joy, then, at the announcement last year that Bunheads, a show from the creator of Gilmore Girls (Amy Sherman-Palladino), was going to begin airing on ABC Family. It’s true that I was skeptical about a show with a title as ridiculous as Bunheads, but I hoped and prayed that Sherman-Palladino would bring back even a morsel of the Gilmore Girls charm. I was not disappointed. Bunheads takes place in a similarly quirky small town (this time on the West coast), with a similarly quirky band of characters. The protagonist, Michelle Simms (played by the lovely Sutton Foster) has an ample supply of snappy, Gilmore-esque comebacks, and even a large portion of the actors appearing in Bunheads have a shared history of walking the streets of Stars Hollow. It’s everything this Gilmore fan could ask for. Ok, not everything. While additional episodes of Bunheads were picked up to form a complete first season, the future of the show after that is still uncertain. This world needs Bunheads on television, if for no other reason than to bring Kelly Bishop into our lives each week. I’m crossing my fingers that it’s here to stay. *SHAMELESS PLUG* Bunheads returns with new episodes tomorrow night on ABC Family at 9/8C. 
–Andrea

EMMA DUMONT, KAITLYN JENKINS, KELLY BISHOP, SUTTON FOSTER, BAILEY BUNTAIN, JULIA GOLDANI TELLES

Leave a Reply

