A Writer Who…

26 Jun

As I write this, I am currently attending a two-day writing retreat as part of the Minnesota Writing Project. It’s a fabulous opportunity to be surrounded by other writers, and I feel truly blessed to have been selected. As many have pointed out to me today, writing can be an isolating experience. There have been many times when I’ve felt alone in my struggles, but being able to talk about these issues with other writers is a step above reassuring. To be surrounded by this much talent and excitement about the writing process is thrilling. And, did I mention they’re all teachers? The inspiration I’m feeling both personally and professionally at the moment is overwhelming.

Our first task when we convened as a group this morning was to respond to the prompt, “I am a writer who…” In the spirit of writing and actually sharing it with my (digital) writing community, below is my response.

I am a writer who…

Is my own worst enemy. I procrastinate, stall, put off and ignore my writing for reasons I can’t even articulate to myself. Then, to make matters worse, I complain about my lack of writing to anyone with “ears.” Ironically I do this most often on my blog, so I guess in a way I am writing, it’s just not what I want to be writing. 

I am a writer with a dump heap of self-doubt. I have lofty goals and a fabulous vision of what I want my written work to be. I’m just constantly second-guessing whether or not I’ve got the chops, talent or chutzpah to make it there. 

I am a writer who worries. I worry I’m not good enough. Then I worry I am good enough, but the world (and myself) will never know because as I’ve already stated, I am my own worst enemy. 

I think it’s a pretty accurate assessment of where I seem to be perpetually at in my writing process. I know this is probably SSDD to those of you who’ve been reading my blog for a while, but I am filled with hope that this program might be what I need to keep the momentum going. It’s certainly giving me a jumpstart, and I’m excited to see where it takes me.

One Response to “A Writer Who…”

  1. lisa karn June 26, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

    Ever since first grade or 3rd when we were told you could write a book then maybe it was 2nd and mrs anderson? anyway I have no doubt you are talented and are wonderful in written expression. You can have it all, just be patient thats all!! You know what your son told me today, that I was anoying sp? have you been telling him this?? lol hope your having a good time!!

Leave a Reply

