Sweet & Salty Chex Mix

1 Sep

Let me preface this post by saying that no one in their right mind would call me a chef. Even to say that I am a “good cook” would be stretching it. What I am good at, though, is following recipes put together by people with much more culinary savvy than myself.

One such recipe that has gotten a lot of acclaim amongst my circles of family and friends is a Sweet & Salty Chex Mix recipe that I was fortunate enough to acquire as a wedding gift from my parents’ neighbors. The Johnson family always made this recipe around the holiday season, and I remember spending time in their kitchen with their granddaughter helping to put it all together. Waiting for the delicious batches to be ready for eating seemed like it took a million years. I know now that it was really only a matter of minutes; I’m happy to say that one of my favorite recipes, this is also one of the easiest to follow.

I’ve had a request recently from a family friend to share this recipe with her, so I figured I might as well share it with you lovely readers as well.

Johnson Family Chex Mix
(aka Sweet & Salty Chex Mix)

Ingredients
2 cups wheat Chex
2 cups corn Chex
2 cups rice Chex
1.5 cups pretzel sticks
1 cup salted peanuts (optional)
3/4 cup butter
3/4 cup brown sugar

Pour all of the dry ingredients into a large roaster pan. Melt the butter and the brown sugar in a sauce pan. Cook until not separated – a few minutes. Pour over cereal mixture and mix thoroughly. Bake at 350 degrees for eight minutes. Stir and bake another six minutes. Spread on a cookie sheet to cool.

If cooking for a gathering of some sort (Thanksgiving, Christmas, etc.) I double this recipe, and it always goes, fast.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

