Waxing Nostalgic – A Christmas Reflection

29 Dec

It is December 29th, 2013 and most signs of Christmas have been erased from my house. There’s a couple of wrapped gifts on the counter that have yet to reach their recipients. There are some new toys, books, etc. still waiting in piles for a permanent home. And then there are the two giant Christmas bins that Husband has yet to take into storage. Beyond that, it’s almost like Christmas never happened. But it did.

It’s easy to wax nostalgic at this time of year. Something about the twinkling of holiday lights and the echoes of children’s choirs on the radio make us want to relive our youth and happy memories of Christmases past. I’m not sure if it’s us as adults trying to recapture the unadulterated joy of believing in magic, or maybe it’s just us being happy and grateful for the experiences of our childhoods. Whatever it is, this year I saw a substantial number of Facebook profile photos being changed to depict images of us as kids at Christmas.

I am no different. Granted, I didn’t bust out the photo albums at my parents’ house to update my FB picture, but I typically get as inexplicably sentimental at this time of year as anyone else my age does. This year, though, I found that my misty eyes and happy heart were less because of fondness for Christmases past, and more because of the joy of the here and now. There was nothing more magical as a child than waking up on Christmas morning to find that Santa Claus had visited and somehow found everything I had asked him for. Now that I have my own children, and one who’s now aware of what’s happening on Christmas, that magic has returned to me. I find myself just as giddy now to create those magical Christmas memories for my own children as I was to experience them myself when I was young.

I’m trying now to hold these moments in my heart and in my head, for I know all too well that this time is fleeting. Before I know it they’ll be grown and non-believers, and the magic will once again fade. In the meantime, I’m going to sit back and savor the spirit of the season. Here’s hoping that you and yours had a merry Christmas, and that you find much joy in the new year.

Jack Christmas

 

Max Christmas

Leave a Reply

