Much to Be Thankful For

27 Nov

I have been thinking a lot about my grandmother lately. Something about this time of year and the comfort food that goes along with it makes me yearn for the smells and warmth of her kitchen. I rang in the cold season by making her hotdish just a couple of weeks ago. As I watched Child #2 eat it for the first time, I could feel her presence with us in the room.

I felt the same way last night, as I was making her classic Orange Jello Salad in preparation for our Thanksgiving feast. My grandma’s foods are such a staple in our holiday gatherings. Even though this is not our first round of holidays without her, it still feels unreal that she won’t be there with her nylons and holiday brooches on, ready to feed an army of 100.

The acute ache of missing my grandmother brings into sharp focus how very lucky I am to have the people in my life. I have the best family and friends a girl could ever ask for. I’ve come frighteningly close to losing some of them, so I do not take any day that they are in my life for granted. There are too many of these people to call out by name (another blessing), but you know who you are. I love you, and I am thankful for you all.

The path that Life takes us on may not always be as we planned. There will be unexpected losses, and tests of our limits. There will be struggles. It is not always easy to remember how very lucky I am. Today serves as a reminder of just that. Today as I watch the Thanksgiving Day Parade with my beautiful boys and watch them eat Grandma’s Jello, I know that I have much to be thankful for.

Happy Thanksgiving.

5q0a5744_1

Leave a Reply

